City Council

City Council2018-10-17T12:36:49+00:00

The City of Mentor has been operating under its own Charter since January 1962 when voters adopted the Council-Manager form of government. Under this system, a seven-member council is elected by the voters on a non-partisan basis. Three members serve At-Large, while the remaining four are elected to represent each of the four Wards.

Every two years, Council chooses one of its own members to serve as President of Council.

Council is responsible for hiring a City Manager to oversee and direct all municipal operations.

The-Mentor-Channel-Logo-150x150

Meetings are open to the public and are broadcast live on the Mentor Channel, Spectrum 1024, U-Verse 99, and on our App available for ROKU, Apple, and Android.

Meetings are rebroadcast numerous times throughout the following week.

Meetings are also archived so that you can view them at your convenience. Access our Video on Demand feature.

Council meetings are held the first and third Tuesday of each month at 7:00 PM in Council Chambers located on the third floor of the Mentor Municipal Center, 8500 Civic Center Boulevard. Meetings are open to the public

Per City Charter, organizational meetings, which are held every two years, begin at 7:30 p.m.

2018 Meeting Schedule

  • January 9 @ 7:30 PM
  • February 6
  • February 20
  • March 6
  • March 20
  • April 3
  • April 17 – CANCELLED
  • May 1
  • May 15
  • June 5
  • June 19 @ 6 PM
  • July 3 @ 6 PM
  • Summer Break
  • August 21 @ 6 PM
  • September 4
  • September 18
  • October 2
  • October 16
  • November 5 (Monday)
  • November 20
  • December 4
  • January 2, 2019 (Wednesday)

No Committee Meetings scheduled

Current City Council Members

John A. Krueger

President of Council
 Ward 4
Term ends 12/31/19
(440) 487-9009
krueger@cityofmentor.com

Bruce R Landeg

Vice President of Council
Ward 3
Term ends 12/31/19
(440) 290-6261
landeg@cityofmentor.com

sean blake

Sean P. Blake

Ward 1
Term ends 12/31/19
(440) 231-1646
blake@cityofmentor.com

matt donovan

Matthew E. Donovan

Ward 2
Term ends 12/31/19
(440) 855-5581
donovan@cityofmentor.com

Janet A. Dowling

Councilwoman-at-Large
Term ends 1/1/22
(440) 257-4464 Home
440-669-5811 Cell
mailto:dowling@cityofmentor.com

ray kirchner

Ray Kirchner

Councilman-at-Large
Term ends 1/3/22
440-290-0805
kirchner@cityofmentor.com

scott marn

Scott J. Marn

Councilman-at-Large
Term ends 1/2/22
(440) 299-7572
marn@cityofmentor.com

Additional Information

Richard A. Hennig
The Law Director is appointed by City Council and is an attorney-at-law, admitted to the practice of law in the State of Ohio. The Law Director is the advisor to, and the attorney and counsel for, the City of Mentor and its officers and divisions. The Director and his staff are responsible for representing the city and for prosecutions for offenses against the ordinances of Mentor and the relevant laws of the State of Ohio. Contact the Law Director at hennig@cityofmentor.com.
Julie Schiavoni
Council appoints the Clerk of Council, who is responsible for attending all meetings of Council, and for keeping its records and performing all duties as prescribed by Council. Call (440) 974-5700 or schiavoni@cityofmentor.com.